Christmas 2017

I know it’s been a couple of weeks since my last post, and in the wake of that ridiculous lawsuit between Salt Lake and San Diego, I’ve been watching Dan Farr and Bryan Brandenburg update everything from “Comic Con” to “Comic Convention” with or without their trademarked “FanX” attached.

Yes, they “lost,” but only in regards to that. On appeal, who knows?

But life is what it is. If/when their challenge to the trademark goes through, we’ll see what happens to all the comic cons around the country.

But that’s not what this post is about. It’s about Christmas (although, Bryan has promised SLCC fans not one, but TWO guest announcements tomorrow, that that’s cool as hell).

I don’t know if it’s just because I’m getting older, or the fact that we have one child (who’s 23 now, so, you know: adult) and no grandkids, but “Christmas” as it was years ago just doesn’t have the same impact on our lives.

I mean, I like to think that, from a gift-giving standpoint, I’m pretty generous 365 days a year when it comes to the people I care about. I can’t recall the last time I didn’t get someone the thing they needed/wanted (within reason… I’m not a millionaire), or just think, “Oh, they might like that.”

I’ve at least reached a point in my life where I have that ability (though I’m far from perfect at it), and I think maybe that’s more important than just dumping a bunch of stuff on people on some randomly selected day in the depths of winter.

(Although it is nice, as it forces the kid to come see us for a few hours, lol.)

And, though I was raised in the Roman Catholic faith, I haven’t attended church in decades, so the more religious aspects of the holiday aren’t the end-all-be-all of the day for me either. (Not to say I don’t have that in me, but let’s just call it an underused muscle, lol.)

Christmas has become a secular holiday, but I don’t know if I would call that a bad thing, necessarily. If it encourages people to be a little nicer, to think a little harder about people other than themselves, to remember for a moment how good life–and we human beings–can be, then isn’t that really what Christmas is about?

I don’t know for sure, but I’m fairly certain I shouldn’t be speaking for God, so I think I’ll be wrapping this up now.

Let me just add this final thought: Remember that, no matter your religious beliefs, Christmas is not about YOU, it’s about those you love.

So love them all year, not just tomorrow in a flurry of colorful paper.

Merry Christmas, everyone!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.