“A” – A to Z blogging challenge – Day 1

Wow.  This is going to be an experience for me.  I, like most writers, both love and loathe deadlines, but I think this little experiment is going to work out okay.

First, for anyone not familiar with the titular challenge, go to http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com to check it out.

Second, while I already had a plan for today, which is dedicated to the letter “A,” we have been asked to use this post to recognize the instigator of this little experiment: Arlee Bird (also of the letter “A,” get it? Those organizers are so clever!).  Who am I to not to honor that request?  So today I will do both: pay homage to Arlee and posting my original “A” post in a two-part entry.  Ready? Then let’s begin.

The link above contains a Q&A session with Arlee Bird that I found both informative and entertaining. Arlee seems to have quite the sense of humor, as evidenced by the fact that he thought he could corral this many creative people in one united undertaking:  silly man!  But I thank him for doing so, as I never would have thought of such a thing.  So, here’s mud in your eye/mozaltov/cheers to you, good Sir, and: thank you!

Now, on to the theme of my postings for the challenge.  I love reading, writing, movies, and music.  My favorite music is by the Canadian band: Rush.  In honor of their pending induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame later this month, and owing to their early tendency to joking include in their albums’ liner notes such things as “Brought to you by the letter…”, I decided that they were a worthy target subject for this months alphabetical challenge.  So I will be be briefly posting about a song by the band that begins with the letter of the day (all but 3 days, sorry, no songs for Q, U, or Z).  Sometimes it will be longer, sometimes shorter, and will briefly talk about what the song is about to me, and if there is an especially memorable lyric, I’ll include that, too.  I will try to stay away from the more well-known, radio-staple songs, as well, and go for something lesser-known, but that I like.

Today we start with A, and the song “Alien Shore” from 1993’s Counterparts
This is a wonderful song that first acknowledges that people are different [either sexually, or by race, or what-have-you, whether real or perceived] and recognizes that there are those who focus on those differences to avoid those who are different from themselves.  But then makes the grand assertion that people are always reaching for that difference [that “Alien Shore”] in order to overcome the difference and grow and gain strength from it, whatever it might be.

**EDIT**
I HAVE JUST BEEN REMINDED THAT I MAY BE VIOLATING COPYRIGHT LAWS BY QUOTING SONG LYRICS. I AM REMOVING THEM PENDING FURTHER RESEARCH INTO WHETHER I WANT TO BE FINED OR NOT
**LYRICS REMOVED**

**END EDIT**

Overcoming differences.  Yes, it may sound kind of mushy, feel-goody, neo-hippie-peace-and-love-ish, and somewhat in constrast to the band’s normal themes of self-reliance and independence, but it is important to remember that those traits do not dictate isolation.  All of us need one another, and the sooner we can get to that point, the better off we’ll all be.  The two viewpoints are not mutually exclusive.

In the vast and “primitive sea” of perceived differences, no man is an island.  And for those of use that undertake the daunting task of writing, we already understand that fact.

See you tomorrow!

2 thoughts on ““A” – A to Z blogging challenge – Day 1

  1. Hi – welcome to the A – Z .. enjoy it. I am fairly unmusical .. so I’ll enjoy reading your posts and learning some along the way ..

    This post particularly is good for many to read .. as we are all the same and really need to get along and care for each other ..

    Cheers Hilary

    Like

Leave a Reply

