First post back….

Well, now that the April A-to-Z blogging challenge is over, it’s time to take a breath and get back into the normal blogging mode, which means that there will now be a couple/few days between posts and more diverse topics.

Not that I didn’t enjoy my 26 days of Rush: far from it.  I love the music and if I was able to introduce some people to it, along with making some salient points about reality, then mission accomplished.  But I do like to rant from time to time about weird things, like politics, so it will be nice to have that time again.

I know what you’re thinking, by the way: politics isn’t weird. Really?

Think about that for a second, especially in the US, and ask yourself: is politics really NOT weird?  Yeah, politics is weird. 

Anyway, I think I’ll just take a moment to hit a couple headlines from the last week or so with a big-ol’ dose of my trademark humor and common sense, and probably really make some people upset in the process.

In California, they signed a bill [HERE] that will let the state take legally acquired guns away from people who have subsequently become ineligible because A) they have been convicted of a crime, or B) they have a “serious mental illness.”  A) good call. If you have committed gun crimes, then maybe you shouldn’t be allowed to LEGALLY purchase a gun. That won’t stop criminals from getting guns ILLEGALLY, of course, but it’s a common sense step.  B) who gets to define “serious mental illness?” According to California Senator Diane Feinstein, military veterans should be considered mentally ill and not be able to own guns [for the record: I know that’s not a quote, but it is her opinion].  BAD CHOICE. Do I even need to defend this one? I didn’t think so.

Apparently, there is a study that shows Depression is being over-diagnosed and over-medicated [HERE]. What? Incorrect diagnoses and over-medication? Depression, ADD, ADHD, Anxiety, etc: America is becoming a “woe-is-me’ society that seems to crave being told that their state of mind isn’t really their fault, and that there is a pill to fix it. Too many whiners clogging the system for the people who ACTUALLY have problems.

“Shall not be infringed.” I know that English isn’t the official language of the country, but this one still seems pretty cut and dried to me. And for those that say the 2nd amendment only applies to muskets because that’s what they had: you are retarded. Seriously: you are full-on, brain-damaged, half-wits. They had cannons back then, so I can have a cannon, too. Arguing that the BoR is limited to the time it was written is stupid. Stop suing for privacy in your email and free speech on your twitter account, since the first amendment only covers written correspondence. Jackasses. Why do you think the language was generically used? So that it can cover situations the founding fathers couldn’t foresee.

Oh, and I see that we finally have a major sports league player come out of the closet: Jason Collins of the NBA is gay. Great. Can he rebound? Box-out? Defend? Use his 6 fouls wisely? Yes. So does it matter if he’s gay or not? Not to people/teams that expect results.

Oh, and I’m not even going to touch the Gosnell trial.  **shudder**  That whole thing just creeps me out.

That pretty much covers a few headlines. Now that it’s out of my system, I’ll go back to posting every other day or so and try to focus on more constructive things about my chosen profession: writing. I’ll still talk about other things, of course, but writing is my passion, and I need to keep it front and center.

And remember, to paraphrase Puck:

If MyOwnLittleShadow has offended,
Think but this, and all is mended,
That you have but accidentally clicked to get here
While these postings did appear.

Later, folks!

Leave a Reply

