Time to ride.

Well, I suppose it’s time to get back on the horse, now that life is settling down somewhat after the recent unpleasantness back home.

For those that don’t know what I’m talking about, see my previous posts HERE and HERE if you want to play catch up. All I’ll say is that—for now—everything seems to be going okay; I just need to wait and see if it stays that way.

But as I said: back on the horse.

It’s time to start writing again. I’m starting with this blog entry, just to limber up the fingers a bit and get the creative juices flowing. I’m sure I’m not the only writer that has to have a “warm-up” period after a bit of a lay-off.

Kind of like a runner if they take some time off. Using those muscles again after they have been sitting idle isn’t an easy thing. And the potential for injury is real.

So, whether or not I’m ready, I’ve got to get back to it. I’m still prepping for the Rocky Mountain Modern Language Association conference in Vancouver, Washington, this October, where I’ll be reading an excerpt from “The Cooper’s Son,” the novel I’ve been slaving over FOR-EVER now (you can read the intro HERE).

I can’t wait for that one to be finished, just so that it’s finally out of my head and I can work on the other stuff I’ve got rattling around upstairs. One of those other works has already been accepted to be read at the Far West Popular Culture Association conference in Las Vegas (ba-by!) in February. I’ve got to get back to it to make sure that I have enough material to draw a good, quality excerpt from for that.

Aside from that, I really think I’m ready to start distracting myself from life and get back to writing again. So I must, and so I shall.

It’s time.

I want it.

I WILL get it.

No matter what.

Leave a Reply

