Day 3: Stan Lee’s Comikaze Expo

Today will be an abbreviated one for me, since I will be driving out of LA this afternoon for my stop-over in Las Vegas (ba-BY!) on the trip home.  I think I’ve done and seen a lot in the last couple days, so it’s mostly tying up loose ends for what I want to see and do.

However, I am primarily hoping to accomplish something pretty sweet for the missus.

Oh, yeah; pulled it off.

Since she couldn’t come, she wanted to get something signed by Josh Gates from Destination Truth.  No problem, I thought, but that seems kind of anti-climactic or boring.  So, I came up with an outstanding idea.

As I was sitting with my daughter waiting for the venue to open, who do I see downstairs getting his badges?  Josh Gates.

This is going to be good.  Ran down and told him what I wanted to do; he was all for it.

Went inside to the autograph area and got in line.  Got to the front, selected a striking photo that made Josh look especially adventurous, and as he signed it, I pulled out my phone and dialed.

You know what comes next.

“Hi.  Is this Shannon?  This is Josh Gates.  How are you doing?”

Totally nailed it.

So, after a brief conversation, I got my phone, the signed photo, and the co-pilot and I made a last swing through the exhibit area.

I am STILL amazed at how NOT CROWDED it is here.  Busy, fun-filled, and enjoyable.  But not crowded.  I hope that the folks running the Salt Lake Comic Con were here talking notes.  They could learn a lot.

Oh, and for no particular reason at all, here’s a little something that made me smile this weekend:

Futurama1

So, headed out and hit the road.  Made it into Vegas without incident, and CANNOT WAIT for the final trip home tomorrow.

As for my time at Stan Lee’s Comikaze Expo:

Stay Classy LA

Stay classy, LA.

2 thoughts on “Day 3: Stan Lee’s Comikaze Expo

Leave a Reply

