R.I.P.D. – Movie Review

I finally got around to watching R.I.P.D. last night, and I have a question.

Really, aside from the fact that it’s terribly derivative, borrowing liberally from movies such as Men in Black, what’s wrong with it?

It’s got a dirty cop and his partner trying to not be dirty, a grizzled “new” partner in the R.I.P.D., an entertaining (if somewhat disturbing) romantic pairing (between Jeff Bridges’ Roy and Mary-Louise Parker’s Proctor), and a supernatural mystery with a lot of chase scenes and gunfights.

I’ll grant you, Bridges’ Roy Pulsipher can be a bit grating at times, but that’s mostly because he’s being played as some overly-grizzled, John Wayne-esque caricature. Come on, though: it’s a supernatural comedy, so you have to give them a little slack in that department.

Ryan Reynolds is who he is; you either like him or you don’t. I’m not going to be able to convince you one way or the other. Is he the greatest actor alive? No.

Is he the worst actor ever? Not even close. Come on; the guy is a perfectly competent, above average, actor, depending on the role he is playing. (As a bit of an aside, I think Reynolds would be well-served to take more high-visibility supporting roles instead of trying to thrust himself into the lead. Just my 2 cents, though. What the hell do I know?)

So, what’s wrong with R.I.P.D.? Nothing.  It is as good a summer film as any other, and perhaps even a little better, since it doesn’t try to be more than it is, which a lot of other films should probably try doing.

If you’ve been avoiding this movie, don’t. Stick it in the NetFlix queue and just enjoy it.  Citizen Kane it’s not, but not much of what is coming out of Hollywood today is.

Leave a Reply

