A Work-In-Progress update

So, it’s been awhile since I posted anything, but life and work and all that, right?

Anyway, here’s an update on the various bits and bobs and irons in the fire I’ve got.

I have completed my first job as editor for Curiosity Quills Publishing. I won’t (can’t) divulge the title, but it was an eye-opening experience, to be sure. It is invaluable for a writer to look at the process from that vantage point. I learned a lot about my own writing by dissecting another author’s.

Bonus: I got paid.

Nice.

I have started on a second editing job now; same author, but a MUCH longer manuscript. I think my experience on the first novel has really helped me, and the input on this novel will be so much better and in-depth. I hope the author appreciates it.

My own current project, which I may have discussed here before, has,however, hit a bit of a snag. “Wardens” began on a tear, with the basic outline and first 25-30 pages coming out virtually effortlessly. Nearly 70 pages in, the process has started to drag. I still know where the story is going; as I said, the outline was basically done, but the writing has begun to meander a bit. I’m not sure how to break out of it, but at least I’m keeping after it.

Still prepping for the Far West Pop Culture Conference in Vegas, at which I’m reading an excerpt of “Wardens.” It had better start moving along again, or I’m going to be severely limited in my choice of readings.

I’m still pursuing the press aspect of of writing. Hopefully some of the applications I’ve got out there pan out. A couple of really cool opportunities out there that I’d like to be able to take advantage of.

So, some advances, some setbacks, but overall, still plugging along.

Leave a Reply

