The Shadow awakens…at least for a bit.

I realize that I haven’t posted anything in here for a while, and I must say that I’m a bit embarrassed by that. I know that I have promised to be more diligent in providing regular postings here, but the last few weeks, at least, have been rather eventful, as noted by my last 2 posts concerning my last “review” trip to Las Vegas.

I hope you enjoyed those as I enjoyed doing the stuff they were about. Because then you would have had LOTS of fun, too.

Anyway, back to the task at hand.

Where to begin? I’m still editing for Curiosity Quills. I’m into my 4th manuscript for them: a sci-fi, humanity-vs-aliens battle piece. It may also be the piece that I have put the most Review Markups on, so far, which I will take to mean that I am seeing more things that need tweaked/deleted/clarified, or else it’s worse than the first 3 MSs I did for them.

I’m going with the former. I know that I’m getting better at the job every time I do another review.

As for my writing? Well, I’m so glad you asked. I offered up the information on my facebook feed that I have completed (at least to my eyes) “The Cooper’s Son.” So now I’m looking for an editor to let me know what else really needs to be done to it. Having become an editor, I know that this is coming, and necessary.

I am thankful to be at this point in the process, nonetheless.

I am also happy to report that I have submitted a paper abstract and a creative piece to the Pop Culture Association South/American Culture Association South Conference, to be held in New Orleans this October. The paper a post-modern examination of “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy,” and its PM hero, Arthur Dent. It has been kicking around being tweaked on for the better part of 3 years, so hopefully it will finally see the light of day.

The creative piece is one that was at one point posted here (I have removed it from “My Writing” page, although it will be expanded for the conference, entitled “Sorry For the Mouse.” It was originally intended to be read at the 2013 Pop Culture Association/American Culture Association National Conference in Washington DC Last April (actually, so was the HHG paper… weird.), but funding fell through and I couldn’t make it.

So, it feels like I’m in a pretty good place, writing-wise. I anticipate having something in print by the end of this year (fingers crossed), and am finally settling into a decent routine for getting more work done.

Yay, me!

Sadly, however, I have decided not to participate in the A-to-Z blogging challenge this year. As much fun as I had last time with my Rush inspired posts, I simply have too many irons in the fire right now to do it. But, if anyone didn’t read last year’s posts during the challenge, just search for the “A to Z blogging challenge” category and look at them this year on the proper days and enjoy them. I really enjoyed doing them.

So, for now, that’s it. I renew my pledge to post here often. In fact, I should be doing another early film screening next week (maybe 2, maybe not), so look for that/those reviews.

And remember, don’t keep the Shadow to yourself: share with all your friends. If I can share it with you, then you can share it, too.  The more people, the bigger the Shadow grows, and the more fun we all can have!

Till next time!

Leave a Reply

