Playing catch-up on FanX

Well, work (that is, the actual day job that pays the bills) has kept me somewhat busy of late, and I find that I have fallen behind here in the Shadow, so it’s time to play catch-up.

But first, a quick thanks to the media folks running the show for granting me my press credential once again, and for helping the Shadow spread by granting one to my dedicated photographer, as well. Her work can be seen over at kelseyraemedia.weebly.com. A very good eye, and a somewhat playful way of processing photos. Her work will be featured in my write ups on the event.

So now, on to the show!

SLCC

FanX. Well, we’re only 12 days away, now, and the guest list just keeps getting more impressive. The folks over at Salt Lake Comic Con, Dan Farr and Bryan Brandenburg, have been burning the midnight oil in their efforts, and they’ve been paying off. Let’s recap a few of the recent announcements:

First, a Walking Dead group photo-op, with Steven Yuen, Emily Kinney, and  Laurie Holden. Unfortunately, and I mean this sincerely, this photo-op is a bit past my current budget to pick up, although if circumstances change in the meantime, I will be seeing if they are still available. Maybe I’ll try to grab a word with them, as well.

Also coming is artist Neal Adams. Just glance at the picture above to see his countless (and critical) contributions to and impact on the comics world. Perhaps an autograph of his is in my future….

Let’s not forget the “kids.” “The Vampire Diaries” will be well-represented at FanX by Paul Wesley and Phoebe Tonkin.

Let’s not forget the good Doctor. Doctor Who will be supported by Alumni Karen Gillan, Billie Piper, and long-time fan requested Matt Smith, the 11th doctor himself. I understand that the separate Doctor Who experience is nearly sold out, if it isn’t already, so head over to the salt lake comic con website if you’re interested.

Plus, we still have Carrie Fisher, Felicia Day, Morena Baccarin, Christopher Lloyd, Ralph Macchio….the list goes on.

I’m looking forward to this event. I think the smaller audience size will lend itself to a more intimate–as opposed to crowded–affair.

Okay, I think that pretty much brings me up-to-date on the whole FanX situation. See my previous posts on the topic for more details.

Let’s get ready to party, people!

Leave a Reply

