“Jupiter Ascending” – A quick note

So, I just read this review of Jupiter Ascending:

http://www.theverge.com/2015/2/6/7989615/jupiter-ascending-review [Bryan Bishop]

I must say that, even though I haven’t seen the film yet, it feels like I’ve heard all these words before (and not just from Mr. Bishop. People famously got up and left the secret screening at Sundance a few weeks ago, and those are Movie People).

Oh, that’s right: I called how this movie would work out to all my friends right after I saw the first trailer in theaters.

The Wachowski’s have been coasting since The Matrix films (or just the first installment. Your call), and while I agree that they can put together a beautiful-looking film, the heart and story just don’t seem to be there in their subsequent work.

Don’t even get me started on what they did to David Mitchell’s beautiful Cloud Atlas. Ugh, my heart ached over that travesty.

The fact that Bryan Bishop hit the same issue I did–the reshoots and release delay–makes me feel good about what I know.

Too bad, too. This movie should have been good. Like a lot of stuff coming out of Hollywood nowadays, though, it’s style over substance. It makes me sad, too, because I love movies. I love watching them, breaking down the stories and characters, reviewing them, sharing my opinions about them….. But I can call a dog a dog, as you can easily see from my other reviews here in the Shadow.

*sigh*

Netflix? Sounds like my original prediction on Jupiter Ascending was pretty accurate.

 

 

Leave a Reply

