The Guild: Why, oh, why, did I wait so long…?

So, in the last week or so, I managed to finally get my butt in gear and watch The Guild.

Yes, that The Guild, starring Salt Lake Comic Con Alum (and returning guest this September) Felicia Day.

All 6 seasons, basically a season or so a day, as I was laying down for bed.

I figured that if I was going to lay in bed and watch TV, I could at least catch up on all those shows I’d always meant to watch but never got around to. I used to watch re-runs of Criminal Minds, which–while an excellent show–gets kind of repetitive after a while.

So, I fired up Netflix and went to town. I figured it was time to hit The Guild since I’d already been waxing nostalgic for my own, non-online, gaming days, which I posted about recently (thank you, Max’s Minions).

Holy. Crap.

What a brilliant tribute to the gaming community. All gaming communities, really. I said it before, and I’ll say it again here: it doesn’t matter what game you play, it’s the people you play with (and for) that make it so special.

What young (or not-so-young) gamer isn’t able to identify easily with Cyd/Codex’s sense of general unease (read: panic) about social interaction, lack of self-confidence, and crippling uncertainty (I being no exception to that question)? But I really saw myself in poor, poor, Zaboo. Dear lord, Zaboo is every single adolescent boy that has ever tried to be “the man,” or even a man, trying to play the macho and commanding (and, yes, sometimes misogynistic) role that life seems to press so forcefully onto them. But he must also give every still-teen gamer-boy hope that they might one day grow up and mature into a real, complete, caring person capable of being a friend, and even–dare I say it?–finding a woman to love.

So, all 6 seasons, over too-soon, and I could watch them again tomorrow.

What to play catch-up on next?

Suggestions?

 

One thought on “The Guild: Why, oh, why, did I wait so long…?

Leave a Reply

