A pretty good day.

Wow. I just realized that I haven’t posted a lot here lately that wasn’t either a profanity-laced, college football commercial, or something having to do with Star Wars… or Keanu Reeves… so I guess I actually have been posting, which is good, because I do tend to feel guilty when I don’t: when “real life” gets so far in the way that it is all you can see, and then you don’t manage to get any of your “work” done.

And, while me making and posting the occasional video is a nice change of pace, I think that I really should stick to doing what I’m doing now, which is pecking away on my laptop’s keyboard (with extreme prejudice… seriously: I destroy keyboards), sitting in the Starbucks at the Gateway Mall in Salt Lake City, waiting to see a movie.

Okay, okay… I rarely, apart from today, sit and work in Starbucks. It actually is making me feel kind of dirty. How many yuppies business types have sat in this Starbucks and “worked” for hours, living off of overpriced coffee (for the record: I either get hot chocolate or iced-tea-lemonade: I hate coffee.) and free wi-fi for months on end, feeling all superior to everyone with a “regular” job?

How many last-minute term papers have been vomited into a word processor from this very chair, destined for some over-worked adjunct professor’s pile of grading up at the University of Utah campus. A barely coherent collection of nouns, verbs, and prepositions designed to convince said instructor that the student does, in fact, have half a damned clue about whatever half-baked thesis they’ve concocted at the eleventh hour.

I don’t think I ever waited until the last minute to write a paper. Sure, I put together some half-baked theses in my time working on my BS and MA, but I always did so very early on in the process and then ran with it until neither I nor my professor could tell that I was arguing what was, effectively, a line of complete bullshit.

But I digress. I was talking about how nice it was to be posting in a somewhat regular manner again. Any sense of regularity in my writing is welcome, even if it isn’t yet regularly working on any projects of appreciable length. Getting through 800-1500 word blog posts on a regular basis is getting me kind of psyched up, knowing that I can still manage to get that many words out in a single go.

Now, if I can find a way to transfer that level of productivity to my other stuff…

Baby steps…

The reason I’m sitting in the Gateway Starbucks, by the way, is that I won passes from a local radio station to see Owl City in their small acoustic “Clearlink Lounge.” I enter to win a lot of those kind of things from the radio stations around here. You can get to do things and see acts you might not get to otherwise.

wpid-20151020_123329.jpg wpid-20151020_123655.jpg

Not a bad way to spend an afternoon: taking off work, catching a set for free, having some dinner with the missus, and then seeing a movie for free, as well.

Oh, and on the fun side, the movie I’m seeing tonight is The Last Witch Hunter with Vin Diesel.

wpid-the-last-witch-hunter-2015-ultra-hd-movie-poster-wallpaper.jpg

I know Hollywood doesn’t have the best track record recently with fantasy, D&D-style movies, but I really have hope that this one will be pretty good, if for no other reason than Vin Diesel is a D&D fan from way back, which means that – I hope – he is concerned with the way the movie feels, and not just the look of it. There have been a lot of good-looking movies that have just sucked in this genre.

We all know it. Whether we admit it or not, we all know it. I don’t know what is so hard about it. Fantasy films, especially D&D-type films, should be no-brainers, but too much style-over-substance has always been the norm.

The Seventh Son? Oh, I had such hope for that one, but no.

At least Hansel and Gretel knew what it was and ran with it. It decided not to take itself seriously AT ALL and, consequently, wound up being one of the more watchable, if mindless, fantasy movies to be released recently.

At any rate, I’m sure I’ll get a review of Witch Hunter up in the next day or so, so watch for that one.

And with that, I’m going to wind this one up and get it posted for all of you to see and enjoy.

Read it, like it, share it, and I’ll see you around the shadow.

2 thoughts on “A pretty good day.

Leave a Reply

