Stan Lee’s Comikaze Expo 2015 – Day 1

Well, I know that everyone is waiting with bated breath to hear about day 1 out here in beautiful, 80 degree, Los Angeles.

COMIKAZE_POW_LOGO_color (2)_0

Stan Lee’s Comikaze Expo 2015, has opened, and, as much as I enjoyed the last 2 years of this event, I must say that I was a bit disappointed in how the opening this year was carried off.

[Shadow note: I have been tweeting throughout the day (@MWWoodring), using #comikaze2015 for event updates, so follow if you dare.]

To begin with, fans weren’t even being let in the door until close to 20 minutes past 1 pm, despite the official start time of 1 pm.

DSC00756

And once the doors were opened, disorganization seemed to be the order of the day. Many vendors weren’t even close to being set up, and the area set aside for celebrity autographs and photo-ops, along with the majority of professional cosplayers and other celebrity booths was nowhere near ready. Around a hundred folks waited in line at the photo-op redemption table to turn their pre-purchased autograph and photo passes into tickets, or purchase other autograph and photo-ops for over 2 hours, as the personnel weren’t prepared, and, on top of that, the wireless network they were trying to use was intermittent at best, and non-existent at worst.

An exaggeration, you say? Nope. I was in that line. I didn’t want to try to do it tomorrow in time for both opportunities with Summer Glau (of Firefly, Terminator: Sarah Connor Chronicles, 4400, Arrow).

And speaking of the celebrities being off in their own corner of the LA Convention Center: whose idea was it to not get two adjoining sections to accommodate the expected increase in crowd size? What a pain in the butt.

And not just for fans, but I know that the celebrities like to try to get out to the vendors sometimes. They’re fans, too (Marilyn Ghigliotti, I’m looking at you, and I’m sorry I haven’t swung by your table yet: I will.), but to have them so far removed from that must be a little annoying for them, as well.

Surely, there had to be a better way to expand than this.

But, regardless, despite the fact that I missed the premiere of F84 Games’ Stan Lee in-game character for “Stan Lee’s World of Heroes,” I was able to see some very impressive art, along with some nice cosplay:

DSC00753

and Max Rockatansky, looking not quite so Mad as pleasant, all things considered:
DSC00759

and for all my fellow Utah Browncoats:

DSC00761

Yes, Captain Malcolm Reynolds is holding a box of tater tots, to which I replied: “Everyone loves tater tots, even in outer space.”

Now, I’m back in the room, winding down after checking out most of the vendors and artists. I picked up a killer Camilla D’Errico print for my daughter, and found a couple things I might go back and double-check. I have to be careful, though. I have to pack it back up for the plane ride home on Sunday.

More tomorrow, folks.

One thought on “Stan Lee’s Comikaze Expo 2015 – Day 1

Leave a Reply

