Stan Lee’s Comikaze Expo 2015 – Wrap-up

It is now Monday morning, and the uber-long weekend that was Stan Lee’s Comikaze Expo 2015 is over.

Flying in, attending all three days, and flying back home to Salt Lake City takes a lot out of you, especially when the last day includes the stupidity known as Daylight Savings Time.

Ugh.

See my previous ramblings covering Day 1 of the event (HERE) for that rundown, so let’s just move on to the rest of it.

First, some of the cosplay:

Small - Fem-Ash

Fem Ash, in honor of Halloween/Ash vs Evil Dead premiere on Starz.

[Shadow note: There were, by the way, LOTS of different incarnations of Ash as the weekend went on. Friday was kind of barren in that department, though.]

Small - Hawkman

Hawkman, because frankly, his wings are awesome, and we don’t get nearly enough Hawkman. Hawkwoman, yes, but not Hawkman.

Small - Dr Strange

The classic Dr. Strange. Very nice. I saw one or two others around, but this was my favorite.

Small - T-Rex

And a T-Rex. Whoever decided that dinosaurs should be including in these events…. should be given a medal.

And speaking of Dinosaurs, here’s the Jurassic Park Jeep:

Small - JP Jeep 3 Small - JP Jeep 2 Small - JP Jeep 1

Nice.

How about Jayne Cobb and River Tam, standing in front of a kick-ass Firefly transport, fully lit, at the LootCrate booth? I asked if it would come in one of my LootCrates, but sadly, the answer was no.

Small - Jayne and River

And finally, I got both the original version of the starship Enterprise:

Small - NCC-1701

along with the J.J. Abrams version:

Small - NCC-1701 JJ Abrams Style

And, like any good party, you need someone to keep reminding everyone how it all works:

Party on, Wayne! Party on, Garth!

Small - Wayne and Garth 1

There was also a great variety of panels to attend, some of which were familiar (Women of Marvel, How NOT to Get Published, etc), but there were also some I didn’t recognize by name, so it’s nice to see some new discussion blood gets thrown into the mix for the attendees.

I managed to get my photo-op with Summer Glau (yay!), and didn’t stump her as much as I thought I would with my autograph choice. I brought both the steel-box Serenity and the bluray sleeve for Knights of Badassdom, so that she could choose, but she took about a second to pick Serenity, although she did comment that KoB was becoming more popular of late. (I agree: watch it. I don’t even care if you like it or not. It’s still awesome)

I finally made it over to Marilyn Ghigliotti’s table, where I chatted with her a bit and then picked up her Lasagna recipe and a promo pic from Starship Rising (both signed, naturally), along with a picture with her.

I also asked some of the vendors/artists that were in the celebrity area instead of the designated Artist’s Alley and Vendor area if the dislocation had hurt their traffic. Generally not, but I can’t help but think that those people that didn’t attend to see any of the Hot Topic Main Stage events never made it to that side of the convention center. I truly hope that next year they can get that connected area so the fans don’t forget about the other side.

But, overall, another fun time at a comic/pop-culture convention. I look forward to seeing how much more growth they have over this year, which was clearly bigger than the last two years (~55K and ~65K). I hope they publish those numbers soon, so that I can compare.

Goodbye, for now. See you around the shadow.

One thought on “Stan Lee’s Comikaze Expo 2015 – Wrap-up

Leave a Reply

