What would it be like…

… if the hearing loss in my right ear becomes permanent?

I’ve talked about how I’ve been trying to figure out why I can’t hear out of my right ear. Many diagnoses, many doctor visits, and still nothing definitive.

It sucks. Not having that audible input on one side, when you’ve obviously grown accustomed to it over the last 40-plus years, is a drag.

Watching movies in 2.55 “surround” sound. Listening to music is glorious Mono-phonic clarity. Really, truly, having to go “huh?” when my wife says something to me. Talking softer because I’m afraid I’ll be yelling otherwise.

And while the Ear-Nose-Throat doctor says it’s probably an “Ossicular Chain Disruption,” (that seems to have no discernible cause) and one that could probably be fixed rather easily, he’s still not 100% sure, and I’m not sure that I want someone cutting into my head and rearranging teeny-tiny bones (or putting in teeny-tiny replacement hardware) without being 100% sure that it’s going to fix the problem.

Even more disturbing, what if I remove myself from the civilian medical side as I try to get this fixed and put it on the VA medical system?

Should I just get used to being this way and mentally prepare myself for a hearing aid?

I hope not. I’ve grown accustomed to listening to the world around me, and I’d hate to lose that.

One thought on “What would it be like…

Leave a Reply

