What I know…

There was an officer-involved shooting in downtown Salt Lake City on Saturday night. I’m sure you’ve all heard about it by now, either through the mainstream media or on one of the near-countless outlets of social media.

Here’s what I know about the situation so far:

There was some sort of altercation near the homeless shelter downtown.

The police were called.

The police arrived.

Something happened.

Somebody shot somebody else.

Crowds of people began to gather and yell at the police and throw things at them.

The police called for backup to help with crowd control.

Here’s what I don’t know:

What the altercation was about or who was involved.

What happened after the police arrived.

Who fired. Who was hit.

Seriously. That’s what we know right now. And the stuff we don’t know is pretty flipping important to understanding everything, don’t you think?

I have seen the social media posts saying, “I heard the guy who was standing near the kid who got shot say…” and the like, but that doesn’t mean anything. It certainly doesn’t mean that it’s true.

“Hands up, don’t shoot” ring any bells?

I refuse to say that X happened when I don’t know what A-W led up to it.

To do so would be stupid, irresponsible, and reckless.

And that’s not how I do things.

Leave a Reply

