Space City Comic Con 2016 – 24 April Update

** Remember to Follow, Like, Comment, and Share the love that is My Own Little Shadow. And follow me on Twitter, @MWWoodring **

As you may already know, I will be covering next month’s Space City Comic Con in beautiful Houston, Texas. Hopefully by then, the waters will have receded and some serious drying out will have taken place. I don’t have to imagine what the city has been going through: I lived just north of the city in Spring, Texas, during hurricane Alicia in August of 1983. What a mess.

The fact that my family had only moved to Texas from my hometown in Pennsylvania 3 months earlier made the event all the more shocking and awe-inspiring. Mother Nature is a both a nurturer and a destroyer.

But, history aside, I am sure that Houston will be well on its way to recovery once more in time for Memorial Day weekend, when fandoms of all stripes will converge on the NRG Center to celebrate their love for all things movie, television, comic book, anime, and everything else pop-culture under the sun.

The biggest story about Space City Comic Con, though, is the incredible array of stars from the hit FX show Sons of Anarchy they have managed to corral for the event.

Ron Perlman, Charlie Hunnam, Ryan Hurst, Tommy Flanagan, Kim Coates, Jacob Vargas, Emilio Rivera, Mark Boone Jr., Rusty Coones, David Labrava, Niko Nicotera, Chris Reed, Timothy Murphy, Kristen Renton, and Michael Ornstein.

FIFTEEN people from one show? Seriously? I don’t care what event you’re running, but if you can corral a significant number of people from any show, much less one that received so much critical and fan respect, then you are really doing your job well.

But, still: FIFTEEN? That’s just freaking ridiculous. Good on you guys.

It makes the fact that they got a former Doctor Who in Colin Baker and two former Companions in Alex Kingston and Billie Piper just look pathetic. At any other event, that would be big news.

Throw in an X-Man (Shawn Ashmore), Star Trek alumni of all stripes, from William Shatner to Marina Sirtis to Brent Spiner to Chris Doohan to Michele Specht…

And that’s not even everybody! Throw in other great folks like Dirk Benedict, Gigi Edgley, and Julian Glover, not to mention my friend and special effects maestro, Russ Adams… and they’ve still got more people!

Ludicrous.

I knew I was going to have a good time down there, but honestly, this is a stupid-good line-up from top to bottom, and one of the best I’ve heard of, outside of a San Diego’s annual dog and pony show and some Wizard Cons that pull together some sick groupings of Marvel biggies.

This is going to be an INCREDIBLE event, and I’m glad that I’m going to be there to see it.

Wonder who I might be able to get a few words with while I’m there…..?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

