I just had a revelation…

…and I don’t like it.

[I know that I’m a bit behind the curve here, but sometimes it takes a while for things to penetrate the constant haze of life surrounding my brain, but once it gets in there…. look out!]

I’ve talked a lot about the DC movie universe here. I’ve talked about Batman vs Superman, Suicide Squad, Zack Snyder, and DC maybe rethinking its approach to their movies.

I admit that I have been a fierce opponent of the direction DC seemed to be heading with Zack Snyder, but felt a bit of hope that DC and WB were moving away from that darkness with the slow move away from Snyder controlling the direction of the movies.The other night, I got to see The Conjuring 2.

Yes, that sentence belongs there. Why? Because The Conjuring 2 was directed by James Wan. The same James Wan who has previously been announced as the director for DC’s stand-alone Aquaman film.

I’m not sure how I’m feeling since I realized that fact.

I took a brief look at his filmography on IMDB, and, aside from Furious 7, he has directed a bunch of horror movies.

Entertaining and sometimes very good horror movies (Dead Silence, Saw, Insidious, The Conjuring 1 and 2), perhaps, but horror movies nonetheless.

So, we have a director who has, up until this point, been known for moody-dark-scary films.

Okay, I thought, maybe he’s simply been a bit pigeon-holed as a director up until now. Maybe he’s just been biding his time, waiting for his really big opportunity, and he’s really going to do a bang-up job on Aquaman, who has arguably been the red-headed-step-child of the DC universe.

Then you look at this, the official first look at Jason Mamoa as Aquaman, released by Zack Snyder back in February, shortly before the BvS debacle:

Aquaman

Sooooo…. dark, moody, and brooding it is. Apparently on the same scale as Batman vs Superman.

Because, you know: that plays so well.

Obviously, this choice was made back when Zack Snyder was still driving the DC movie bus.

But before he put it in the ditch.

I’m still holding out hope for Suicide Squad, though. I really am.

Leave a Reply

