Denver Comic Con, Day 1

End of day one here in beautiful Denver, Colorado, for Denver Comic Con. It has been a long day for me, already, so I will keep it short and sweet.

My day began a little before 4 a.m. in Salt Lake City, when I got up and got ready to go to the airport. Flew into Denver, even arrived early, and rode the new train from the airport into downtown. The wonderful folks at the Sheraton Downtown held onto my luggage while I went over to the convention center.

By this time, it was nearly 45 minutes after the doors had opened, and the line was still wrapped around the building in a winding, serpentine track that was moving, but didn’t seem to be getting anywhere. Around a quarter past eleven, I finally got inside the building, and still had to walk five minutes to reach the entrance to the exhibitor floor.

Via twitter, Denver Comic Con says they are working on that for tomorrow.

Yikes.

But, we’ll see how it goes.

Once inside, I was amazed by the number of artists, vendors, and authors. They packed the floor, and it was pretty crowded, so I’m a little concerned about how it will  be tomorrow, which everyone I spoke to say will be the “busy day.” Saw Salt Lake artist Kat Martin at her booth with lots of interest. Awesome. We love her work.

I got my cancelled photo-op with Morena Baccarin swapped out for one with Clark Gregg, so that’s cool. Tomorrow is photo ops with Katee Sackhoff and Lena Headey. Epic Photo Ops is running that, so I would expect it to run smoothly.

Was a bit surprised by the lack of insane fan action at John Barrowman’s table in comparison to the near riot-sized crowds he had during the Salt Lake City events he’s been to.

Got checked in to the hotel and had some dinner, and headed back upstairs to rest up for tomorrow.

More tomorrow!

One thought on “Denver Comic Con, Day 1

Leave a Reply

