A look back at Denver Comic Con 2016

image

So, I arrived home and snuggled into my own bed following Denver Comic Con this past weekend at the God-forsaken time of 1:30 a.m. Monday morning, following a late plane ride. But I made it.

Some closing thoughts about the event, covering the whole weekend (see Day 1 and Day 2 coverage):

The line for Stan Lee autographs and photo-ops was INSANE! It’s no wonder, since Denver is simply a stop on the Stan Lee Farewell Tour. Take a break Stan.

You’ve earned it.

Had a nice chat with a woman who made an R2D2 costume for her son out of a round, collapsible hamper and a modified dollar-store punch bowl. Really an exceptional effort, one her son was really excited about.

Is it just me, or is the idea of “sexy” Hogwarts student somewhat creepy…?

Lots of Peggy Carter cosplays, both in uniform and her distinctive blue suit/red hat. I cannot help but think her popularity is directly connected to the fact that she is a strong, independent female character, and girls/women crave that. Joss Whedon knew this years ago; what the hell is taking the rest of Hollywood so long?

Speaking of cosplay, I say a couple of Logan/Wolverines that not only looked the part, but, when asked for photos, immediately gave that smug smile, as if to say, “of course you can take my picture. Why wouldn’t you want to?” If you’re going to play as Wolverine, you’d best bring that attitude, because it’s half the character.

I may or may not have previously mentioned that there were a lot of Deadpools (obviously), but what I failed to mention is that I also saw one, a single one, Negasonic Teenage Warhead. In her non-spandex, black outfit. I almost didn’t realize who it was till she was gone by, but I laughed out loud when I realized who they were. Awesome.

Oh, and here’s a random thought that occurred to me while walking around seeing tons of various Green Arrow/Arrow cosplayers mingling with all of the Deadpools: if Deadpool was doing Arrow’s job, he’d probably say something like, “Oliver Queen! You have left this city in an ambivalent state of satisfaction!”

I don’t know why I thought that, and I apologize if it’s not as funny to you as it is to me. But I think it’s hilarious.

So Denver Comic Con was really, really excellent. And huge, apparently, as I heard the number 120,000 tossed out, which puts it on par with Salt Lake City.

Looks like Dan Farr and Bryan Brandenburg are gonna have to hustle to keep us in third place (or higher).

I’m sure they will.

I’m looking forward to attending next year’s Denver Comic Con, now that I have a feel for the city and how the organizers do things.

One thought on “A look back at Denver Comic Con 2016

Leave a Reply

