Gaming Update – Out of Retirement

This post is mostly for gamers; specifically RPGers, and really specifically, Dungeons and Dragons players. Anything you don’t understand, ask a question and I’ll answer it.

Yesterday, I pulled out and dusted off my box of dice: 4-sided, 6-sided, 8, 10, 12 and 20-sided, and sallied forth to once again meet up with a group of people and immerse myself in imagination. These dice, and my gaming, have been retired since approximately 1991.
13528450_10210122528838577_1328263756357173057_o

That is a long time. I have previously chronicled my nostalgia for and the importance of this activity to me HERE.

But an opportunity to re-immerse myself in that pastime came up, so a game of Fifth Edition Dungeons & Dragons (5E) was to commence. As you gamers know, the really important part of the game is character generation. It pretty much sets the tone for how the game is going to A) be played, and B) be enjoyed.Halfling Rogue. Yep. That’s what I wanted. No particular reason, really, except maybe to be able to lose the party from time to time and collect some loot without prying eyes.

I won’t bore you with the details of how ability numbers were created (by the DM, not the players), but let’s just say that, by the time I finished, I had created what may very well be the strongest, fastest, pretty-smartest Halfling Rogue ever.

Ever.

Not a very personable guy, though. Not really likeable. Zero filter between his brain and mouth, often speaking aloud what he knows other people are thinking but not saying.

It’s almost like his personality is based on me.

Weird, right?

Anyway, I’m not sure how it has happened, but after a single gaming session, I might be the best melee option in the party, which consists of a Dwarven Fighter, an Elf Ranger, and a Gnomish Rogue.

Two rogues in one party. I can’t see how that is going to cause any problems at all.As for gameplay, aside for learning the mechanical differences between 1st Edition and 5E, it wasn’t really too much different than what I remember from back in the day. What is obvious, however, is that I’m the most experienced person playing, despite my lengthy layoff.

Which means I should be able to have even more fun than I realized.

heh, heh, heh…

 

Leave a Reply

