Salt Lake Comic Con 2016

We’re just days away now from Salt Lake Comic Con 2016.

SLCC16 LOGO-indigo

This show has become something of an exercise in excess, of late.

While some fans might have been somewhat underwhelmed by the guest list, which admittedly didn’t have the flash of 2015’s Marvel line-up of Chris Evans, Anthony Mackie, Hayley Atwell, and Sebastian Stan, a guest list including William Shatner, Famke Janssen, John Cena, Michael Rooker, Stephen Amell, Ian Somerhalder, Danny Trejo, Billy Boyd, and countless others, was nothing to sneeze at.

And then, the figurative feces hit the rotating cooling device.

Mark Hamill, star of the Star Wars franchise and the voice of the Joker in DC’s animated universe, would appear for one day.

Mark Hamill

Suddenly, there was no questioning Dan Farr and Bryan Brandenburg’s guest-getting ability.

Clearly, Mark Hamill’s panel–the only one he would be doing in the US this year–would be THE ticket to have (figuratively speaking). Suddenly, the 5000 seat Grand Ballroom at the Salt Palace just wasn’t going to get it done.

What to do?

Obviously, the only answer was to get access to the Vivant Smart Home Arena a couple blocks away and seat 20,000-plus fans for back to back panels with Mark Hamill and the Captain James Tiberius Kirk himself, William Shatner.

Twenty. Thousand. People.

That’s a lot of people.

In an arena that normally houses professional basketball games and huge concerts.

So, before the doors to the vendor floor even open on day one, Salt Lake Comic Con will have done two panels which will arguably be the largest ever at a comic con.

Not bad for the fourth year of an event, huh?

And before I go too far in complementing Dan and Bryan for his year’s event, let me remind everyone that there are still 4 days in which yet another rabbit can be pulled out of the hat. I myself, hold out hope–still–for Benedict Cumberbatch and a Doctor Strange tease.

But there’s no way that can happen, right? I mean, come on; that would be like having Captain America, Falcon, Winter Soldier and Agent Carter at the same event.

Nope. Not going to happen.

But, oh, how cool would that be?

Almost as cool as Robert Downey, Jr., showing up.

Maybe cooler.

Maybe.

I guess we could always have them both come and then decide which is coolest…

I look forward to covering the event, having gotten press credentials again. Of course, that means my Thursday will now consist of going to the kick-off press conference at 10 am, followed by the Mark Hamill Panel, then onto the vendor floor, where I will be spending a chunk of the day at the Utah Browncoats’ booth, until the vendor floor closes at 9 pm.

That’s a long day.

Then, I get to do it all again the next day!

Woo-hoo!

I have said it before, and I will say it again: if you aren’t a fan, you have no business covering these types of events.

And I’m a fan.

I hope to see a lot of great cosplays (aside from the likely countless Harley Quinns and Jokers). I myself am planning on being Jayne Cobb on Thursday, Malcolm Reynolds on Friday, and I think Arthur Dent on Saturday.

So, if you see me, stop me and say hi.

Leave a Reply

