Fall update – What is going on here…?

What a whirlwind of activity around here, lately.

I started the podcast, finished and picked up another editing job, signed paperwork for a short story publication in January of 2017, got edits for that piece to go over, and am planning a 6 day road trip to Texas and back at the end of the month.

I need time to breathe.

Maybe if I just line them up, one at a time, they’ll be easier to handle.

The podcast (the Visually Stunning Movie Podcast), while small, is a really interesting experience, and I hope for great—or at least pretty-darned-good—things from it moving forward. And, while the “approval” process for iTunes wasn’t nearly as big a hurdle as I had expected, it’s still cool to think that potentially millions of people can ignore appreciate my work in a single location.

Technology is a wonderful thing, I guess.

I just finished a monstrous editing job for an author I’ve done several other manuscripts for, only to be rewarded with the assignment of an even more monstrous manuscript from him. And it’s still not the longest one he’s ever submitted; that one was over 200,000 words.

I’m really proud that this particular short story was accepted for publication in the upcoming 3rd annual Curiosity Quills Anthology. It’s a little piece that completely depressed a room full of people in New Orleans a couple of years ago (on my birthday!) that I read at the Pop-Culture Association/American Culture Association (PCA/ACA) Conference (South), so you can all look forward to that! I had submitted a second piece, which acquisitions also liked a lot, but I guess having two pieces accepted was too much to hope for.

At the end of this month, I will be road-tripping with the wife down to west Texas to see my dad and brothers, and to pick up an antique dresser that belonged to my mom, along with a couple other little things. I really should have asked for a smaller memory of my mom.

Thankfully after we get back from that trip, I’ll have four whole weeks to relax (except for editing, of course) before flying out to Los Angeles for this year’s Stan Lee’s Comikaze Expo, with an extra couple days tacked on the end so we can spend Halloween at Disneyland. Fun!

After that… who knows.

All I know is that I love doing what I’m doing, but I really could use a few more hours in the day to keep from paddling like a crazed duck to stay afloat.

 

Leave a Reply

