Blade Runner 2049 trailer

I figured it was about time I commented on the Blade Runner 2049 trailer, so here it is, for all 3 of you that haven’t watched it yet.

 

I admit,  I was hesitant about this one. It felt like Hollywood was going back to exploit yet another great property, probably to near-comical disaster, further dragging the wonder of my childhood down into an abyss of derivative nonsense.

But then I learned Denis Villeneuve was going to direct, and I felt better. After watching what he did with the intellectual Arrival (listen to my review of that here), and his work on Sicario and Prisoners, I found myself more encouraged.

As for the actual trailer, I admit the tone certainly feels correct, although it reveals precious little of the plot, or how involved Harrison Ford is going to be involved in the overall story.

Normally, that would give me more concern, but I’m willing to give the movie a little leeway, based on the quality of the source material and Villeneuve’s involvement.

What do you guys think about it? Is this a good idea or a bad idea on Hollywood’s part?

 

Leave a Reply

