Revisiting an old friend: Dipping a toe into the new “Who”

I’ve watched Doctor Who before: the classics, at least. I grew up with Tom Baker as “my” Doctor, and I don’t think that will change. I hadn’t watched anything related to Doctor Who after “Trial of a Time Lord” when it re-broadcast locally on over-the-air channel “RetroTV” last year (after at least 6 months of watching 4 episodes a night–IN ORDER! I miss that channel…)

But last night, I entered the 21st century and finally watched the first episode of the “new” Doctor Who series. Starring Christopher Eccleston, I was kind of struck by the fact that the show-runners didn’t start with a regeneration, but rather with the character of Rose, played by Billie Piper, and her initial meeting with The Doctor.

I had, going in, heard conflicting things about the Eccleston season, from “you need to give it a chance” to “it’s great.”

Here’s my thoughts.

He’s a bit more manic in this incarnation than I recall from the “classic” doctors, although Colin Baker was probably the closest in that department. And that’s okay. If I was a (nearly) immortal Time Lord who spent his days traipsing around the universe doing good-ish things, I might be a bit manic, as well.

I can’t help but think (or hope) that I will soon be treated to the story of this ninth Doctor’s regeneration, as it is implied that he is still getting used to it, or that it happened just before this premiere episode occurs, as we see him commenting on his appearance (especially the ears) in Rose’s flat.

I do expect that Eccleston will settle more fully into the character as this season, his only, progresses.

Overall, however, I think I’m going to be okay with this show. Binge-watching will be out, as who has the time, really? With all the other things I’ve got on my plate (truthfully, I put them all there myself, so I can’t really complain too much), I’m lucky to get to an episode a day of the countless shows I’m behind on…

But I will watch them. and them I’ll finally be able to tell you who’s the better modern Doctor.

[Maybe at some point I’ll even buy them all, instead of trying to get to them all on various streaming platforms (currently Amazon Prime). How about it BBC?]
Leave a Reply

