What to do, what to do…

Well, it finally happened.  I should have known that as soon as I got close to finishing something major, something that I had been working on for years, that something would happen to mess it up.

Yesterday, a long-standing feud between my computer and the windows 7 BSOD finally came to a head.  BSOD on bootup. I could only get into windows in safe mode.

What a colossal pain in the butt.

So, I finally went ahead and made the break from my long love affair with the desktop computer and just went to a laptop as my main machine. I didn’t really need a desktop, for all my fussing about it, I suppose. Sure, they’re upgradable/expandable, but it’s not like I’m a huge gamer or something. Really, I just type and surf the web and maybe watch some movies. That’s about it.

So, as I said, I bought a laptop. What kind doesn’t matter, what matters is that I:

A) managed to back up all the files I needed before the old machine gave up the ghost, and

B) I forgot that any computer straight out of the box requires literally HOURS of tweaking and updating and installing all that software you need…

Yeah, it sucks.

So I’m writing this on my tablet, because I’m still in the terminal “update” cycle on the laptop. Which is fine really, because it’ll be good when its done. Its just that I didn’t want to spend any money right now.

Still, the whole experience is kind of like writing, in that the unexpected always seems to come along when we least expect it, like that little plot hole we forget to fill or worse, that whole subplot we just forget about. Maybe its the character that just keeps refusing to die or worse, the one that seems determined to die when you know you’ll need them further down the road.

Life’s like that, I guess.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.